Rockin’ Roll Cake! (FP)

I’ve NEVER been more excited about a dessert in my life!  No lie!  My friend Angel is a great cook and she came up with this delicious recipe.  I give her BIG props!  I almost ran to the kitchen to make it after she gave me the recipe.  I made two different versions to try and really enjoy them both!

This first one has a cream cheese and whipped cream filling.  I topped it with berries!

DSC_0547

The second version I made had a filling of chocolate pudding that I made by adding 1 TBS of cocoa to the Nighty Night Custard and a layer of whipping cream!  I just made one serving of the custard for my filling.  You could do so many flavors!

DSC_0543

I know, right?!!  They taste as good as they look…probably better!  The possibilities are endless for the filling.  I say this is a Fuel Pull because the cake part is a Fuel Pull.  It can stay that way by the fillings you choose or it can become an E or an S.  Both of my recipes I’ve shown are “S” cakes because of the whipping cream and cream cheese.   You could do a lovely “E” by adding sweetened Greek Yogurt and a filling with blueberries or peaches!  OH MAN! 🙂  If you cooked the fruit down a bit with some sweetener and a little Gluccomanan it would make a lovely filling!  A thin layer of filling is best since it will ooze out if you don’t.

Rockin’ Roll Cake! (FP)

  • 8 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup of Truvia/Xylitol or Erythritol
  • 2 scoops of Swanson’s Premium Whey Protein Powder (Vanilla)

First, beat the egg whites until they are frothy and forming peaks!  Then add in the remaining ingredients and gently stir them in until they are well mixed together.   Place a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet.  Use an extra large baking sheet for one large  cake or a regular sized sheet to make two smaller cakes.  I did this and made two versions.  Pour the mix on the baking sheet in a nice layer but, not too thick.   Here is what mine looked like.

DSC_0536

Bake the cake at 350 for about 8 minutes!  It was just slightly browning on top.   Here is my baked cake from the oven.

DSC_0538

Let the cake cool!!  I was a bit hasty and was dying to taste mine.   Please just be patient and wait till it cools a bit and it will come right off the paper!  While I was waiting for mine to cool, I had made up a bowl of homemade whipped cream.  I just sweeten mine with a little Truvia and I add a little vanilla or almond extract for flavor.  For the first cake roll I made, I had softened a bar of cream cheese and beat it with some sweetener and vanilla as well.  I took half the whipped cream and mixed it together with the softened cream cheese mixture.  When it was nice and smooth it was ready for the cake!  My cake had cooled off by now and I had flipped it over so the smooth top side would be the outside of the finished cake roll. I used a spatula and put a nice layer of the cream cheese/whipped cream mix on the cake.  Then you just roll it up!!  You can wrap it up in plastic wrap and store it in the refrigerator.  I think it tastes really good no matter when you eat it but, I did love it even more after it had chilled for a while!

My friend Angel has made many versions of this now. She made a cream cheese and pumpkin filling for one.  This Sunday at our church potluck, she had used raspberries that she’d cooked down in sweetener and a layer of whipped cream.  YUM!  You could even flavor the cake with lemon extract or any other flavors you enjoy! You could even add some unsweetened cocoa powder and make a chocolate roll! Angel even added some cinnamon to her cream cheese filling to make a cinnamon roll flavor for breakfast!   The possibilities are endless!  I would say if you make two rolls each would serve about 8 folks.  One large cake would serve about 16.  I may or my not have eaten two pieces.   🙂

I hope you enjoy this cake as much as we did!  Here is my little Valentine’s Day picture!

DSC_0557

Please visit Gwen’s Nest for more Trim Healthy Tuesday recipes!  It’s the place to score great THM tips and yummy recipes!  If you’ve been wondering about Trim Healthy Mama you can visit their website to order the book or visit their Author’s page on Facebook!  As you can see by this recipe alone, I am never deprived of good eats!

Come follow me on Facebook-  Jennifer Griffin(Home With a Purpose)

Join me on Pinterest- Jen Griffin

Pin for this recipe: Rockin’ Roll Cake!

59 thoughts on “Rockin’ Roll Cake! (FP)

  1. I just halved this recipe and made it for a special lunch! I used 1/3 fat cream cheese mixed with a scoop of whipped cream, vanilla, stevia and blackberries (didn’t have raspberries) for my filling. Wow. I loved it. Thanks Jennifer!

  2. Well, aren’t you adorable! 🙂 Loved the post and the props- thanks girl. Your pictures were GREAT too! I’m glad to have shared the recipe. I’ll try to come up with something to top it! lol Yay for THM!

  3. You have some great recipes and beautiful photos.
    Just one small suggestion…is there anyway you could add a printable recipe option to your blog (like Gwen has or Whole Food Mom)? I have no idea how that is done or how hard it is to add or if that’s something you are interested in doing. Just a thought. It’s not that big of a deal to have to copy and paste into a document, but then I have to reformat and resize the text.

    • I am not sure how to do it but, I can ask Gwen or another blogger friend to direct me as to how. I’m not a high tech girl. 😦 I’ll see if I can figure it out for the future. I know it would be nice.

      • It’s a plug-in – I have it on my blog. Search your wordpress plug ins for printable and you’ll find some options. Not hard to do at all (if I can do it, anyone can!) Great idea, too. My question – can I use agave in this recipe and have it come out as good as the original?

      • If you are not a THM gal you could try Agave. It’s not on the plan as it’s too high in natural sugars for the plan. Let me know how it turns out. 🙂

  4. Hi! I made this and it tasted really good!!…But, mine didn’t roll up! It broke as I rolled it. I’m not sure why! I love this idea though, I will def try to make it again. I made your whip cream/cream cheese filling with homemade low carb raspberry sauce:)

  5. Wow! So creative! Just wondering, about how many tea/tablespoons would “2 scoops” be? I don’t ever have protein powder, so I’ll have to figure something else out. 🙂 Thanks for linking up at Savoring Saturdays – I’m excited to try this!

  6. I’m so excited about this. I like chocolate, but it’s never been my “favorite”, so a lot of the THM desserts are just ok to me. This looks like something that I could really enjoy! Thank you for sharing!!

    • I have…I forgot once and it still came off the paper fine after it was cool. 🙂 Just don’t be anxious…I was at first and tore the cake the first time! I was hungry!! 🙂

      • The ones that I did not grease have cooled for over an hour and I still can’t get them off. The one I greased came off within 15 minutes. Might be helpful to add that to the recipe.

      • I used a spatula once to get it off when it was still warm. Maybe you can use it for shortcake or something if it didn’t stay in a sheet? 🙂

  7. Hey! Just wanted to let you know that your Rockin’ Roll Cake will be featured tomorrow at Savoring Saturdays! It was the most popular post! 🙂 Hope you’ll come back and link up another one of your recipes. 🙂

    • I’d use a pudding inside like I did. 🙂 I like the Nighty Night Custard as a filling with a TBS of cocoa mixed in it. Great chocolate pudding. 🙂 Any other THM puddings would work well too. Lemon would be yummy too.

  8. I love this recipe! Going to dig into it here in just a few minutes! I found I liked it a little more cooked. Less of an “egg” flavor. Loved the suggestion of adding a little cinnamon to the cream cheese, it really is delish! Thank you for this recipe!

  9. Pingback: Savoring Saturdays #6 | Raias Recipes Book

  10. Pingback: Menu Planning Monday- Menu 11 | Big Taste Trim Waist

  11. Pingback: Cheesy Bread (S) | Home With a Purpose

  12. How do you know if you are making something a Fuel Pull? I’ve seen some things with coconut flour; others with protein powder, etc., I also hear people say they figured the carbs and fats and determined something was a fuel pull. How does one do that? Thanks for the great recipes and lovely pics!

    • A fuel pull is under 10 carbs and 5 grams of fat or less. 🙂 There is such a small amount of coconut flour in the whole recipe that it works! Usually I keep coconut flour in S meals.

Leave a comment