Angel’s Cake- Fuel Pull

Cake!!  Who doesn’t love cake!  I posted a lovely recipe from a friend the other day, called Angel’s Berry Cake!!  Man oh man it is divine!  It is a very Satisfying cake.  My THM buddies know what that means!  Well, the secret or not so secret thing is that the cake is a Fuel Pull when you take off the whipped topping!  Great news!  🙂  I thought I’d post just the cake recipe with a few ideas for topping that will keep it a Fuel Pull.  Big props to Rohnda Monroy for the idea and beautiful picture of the cake!

angelberrycakeFP

Cake Mix:

  • 1/3 Cup of Swanson’s Vanilla Whey Premium Protein Powder
  • 1/3 Cup of Truvia (or 12 packets)  Grind them after you measure it out.(or 1/2 cup of xylitol, powdered)
  • 6 egg whites
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp. of vanilla
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flour
  • 1 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp. of aluminum free baking powder

This is for the basic cake.  You could add other flavors or extracts if you want to get creative!

Pre-heat the oven to 350!

First, beat the egg whites with a shake of salt until they form peaks and become firm!  Add the cream of tartar and stir mix some more until even firmer. In another bowl sift or mix the dry ingredients together well.  I did grind up my Truvia. Fold the dry ingredients into the egg mixture. Sprayed a 9 by 9 glass baking dish with coconut oil cooking spray.   Pour in the mixture!  Easy! Bake for 25 minutes.  Keep your eye on it in case your oven bakes hotter or cooler than mine.

Fuel Pull TOPPINGS!

The first FP topping idea is pictured above!  Rohnda used the Lemon Mousse from page 367 in the book, a few berries and a tiny bit of Fat Free Redi Whip!  YUM!!

Tummy Tucking Ice Cream from page 368 would be divine on top!

Another idea from Aleah is to put some Cottage Berry Whip on top!  That can be found on page 379. 

You can use the berry layer on top of the cake as well and keep it a Fuel Pull.

  • 1 and 1/2  cups of berries (mixed, blueberries,blackberries, raspberries or strawberries)
  • 8 packets of Truvia or 1/8th cup xylitol
  • pinch of gluccomanan (add as needed)

In a saucepan, add  mixed berries or the berry of your choice!  Angel made this with all blueberries and it was divine!!!  I used mixed berries in mine.  Let it bubble and simmer down.  Add 8 packets of Truvia (or 1/8th cup xylitol) and a pinch of gluccomanan.  Let it thicken a bit.  Add more til you get it to the thickness you like.  Kinda like a jelly.   Let it cool.

I hope this gives you some fun, yummy ideas for a delicious Fuel Pull Cake!  For more fun recipes, visit Gwen’s Nest!

The Pin for Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/pin/27443878953534422/

40 thoughts on “Angel’s Cake- Fuel Pull

  1. This was wonderful. I made it today for our family’s weekly “Tea Time”

    Do you have any idea how to scale the ingredients down to make it into one of those THM microwave (if you use one) cakes for one (like the muffin in a mug, etc)? Although your recipe is already super easy, it would be nice to be able to make it in a minute in the microwave for those times when a quick snack is needed.

    • That is what I used, Linda. The cart had the amounts written on it. I think it’s 1/3 cup for 3 eggs on my carton…so 2/3 cup would be my thought..

      • I had always heard egg whites from a carton didn’t whip up very firm. It worked ok for you? I am glad because that is much more convenient than separating & saving all the yolks!

  2. I was just looking for an easy angel food cake recipe today and didn’t find one that I was sure would be what I should have. And then you posted this on facebook! I will eat angel food cake with my family tonight :). Thank you and great timing!! Sugar-free blueberry syrup for me!!

  3. It did set up–like something with egg whites in it. I’d say it’s a bit more than an inch thick–it actually tasted really good (I think my pan is 8 x 8). I have not been doing THM long so haven’t tried too many recipes outside of basics, but if I didn’t know better, I’d think it went the way it was suppose to.

  4. Hey, I was soooo looking forward to this. I tried making it tonight… epic fail. It didn’t rise at all… it was flat on the bottom of my pan and rock hard. I tasted a bite, just to see if I liked it, and the flavour is great, but I’m not a baker at all (drive thru Sue… I love anything pre-made or in box form!), so I’m just wondering if you have ANY thoughts as to why it wouldn’t have risen into a nice fluffy cake like yours?? HELP!!!
    Jen

    • Mine doesn’t rise too high. The trick is in keeping the egg whites fluffy. Folding the ingredients together ver gently at the end. I hope it still tasted good to eat!

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Favorite Fuel Pull Snacks! | Home With a Purpose

  6. I am so excited to try this cake!!! Two questions: I bought Xylitol the other day. Does it come powdered or do I need to grind it up? Also, is the coconut flour you mentioned ground up coconut flakes or is it the commercially prepared flour? I know the book makes a distinction and says that you have to use the correct kind for their different recipes. Thanks!!

  7. Hi Jennifer, I made this cake twice already but both times they came out a bit dry. Do you have any suggestion? I use fresh eggs since I read that carton eggs don’t whipped up to stiff peaks. Does yours work fine with carton egg whites? It would be so much more convenient and I would make it more often. 🙂

    • I do use egg whites from a carton. I mix it a bit longer but, it always works. I did a bit extra on the whites this last time I made it and used 1 1/2 cups of liquid egg whites.
      Perhaps not baking it so long would help on the dryness? I’ve not had that issue before. 😦

  8. A little confused, I was reading the comments. Earlier you said 2/3 cup liquid egg whites, then I saw 1 1/2 cup liquid egg whites. Can you please confirm. Also, were you able to come up with a MIM version recipe? Thanks

    • 1 1/2 was for a different cake! That’s 8 egg whites! Oopsie! I did use that much the other day and it was great! Now I know why it was thicker! lol

Leave a Reply

