Mom’s Breakfast Casserole! (S)

My mama is a great cook!  She would make this wonderful casserole for brunch that was a big hit with my husband and I.  I’ve been trying to make Shan breakfast in the mornings and came across my recipe card from mom.  With a few little tweaks it was THM friendly and just as yummy as when she makes it!  This equals a very happy husband!

casserole

The BEST Breakfast Casserole (S)

  • 8 eggs
  • 6 cups of cheddar or colby jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup of golden flaxseed flour
  • 1/4 stick of butter
  • 1/2 pound of diced ham
  • 1/2 tsp of onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp of parsley
  • 1/2 tsp of chives
  • salt and pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 350.  I spray  a 9 by 13 baking dish with cooking spray.  I beat the eggs and then mix in the rest of the ingredients, minus the butter.  The deli will give you a nice piece of ham that you can dice or you can find it pre-packaged in a 16 oz bag. I usually buy it pre-packaged and I can get a few casseroles out of it or use it on salads or in breakfast burritos.  After it’s all well mixed, I cut the butter into little pieces and dot it over the top of the casserole.  I bake the casserole for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  I keep my eye on it to see when the top is browning nicely. This serves 12!   I often cut the recipe in half for the two of us but, the large casserole is wonderful for serving others or to last for quite a few days!  It heats up so well!  This recipe is great as well baked in cupcake tins!  I’ve done this for a grab and go portion.  You would need to adjust the cooking time though to 20 to 25 minutes.  Keep an eye on them.  This is a great recipe to stir up the night before so that you can just pop it in the oven in the morning.  Easy peasy!

*Add your favorite veggies!  Green peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.  You could even add in some chopped bacon!  Serve with a dollop of sour cream and salsa for a Mexican flair! I love it like I originally posted it.  It’s just plain GOOD!

For more wonderful Trim Healthy Tuesday recipes visit Gwen’s Nest!  The book I love so much is called Trim Healthy Mama!  Check them out online to learn more about a healthy way of eating that really fuels your body with good food!

Follow me:  Pinterest

Facebook: Home With a Purpose- Jennifer Griffin

Pin:  Mom’s Breakfast Casserole(S)

9 thoughts on “Mom’s Breakfast Casserole! (S)

    • No, I don’t. Since there is so much freedom in the THM plan I don’t count calories, fat, etc. I’m sure you can use Calorie Counter or something to find out if it’s something you keep track of. :)

  1. I’m thinking this is dinner tonight. :)
    I will use a pkg of natural ham lunchmeat, chopped, because that’s what I have.
    I’m SO tempted to add green chiles!
    Is “golden flaxseed flour”, the same as the flaxseed “meal”?
    Thanks for sharing this, Jennifer!

    • I think you can use the flaxseed meal. I even told someone they could pull off almond flour if they didn’t have the flax. I just like it best. :) Sounds like a yummy dinner! Green chiles would be perfect!

      • We all loved it! I subbed 4T diced green chiles for the parsley & chives. I added about 1/2c chopped onions & 1/3c (a handful) of crumbled cooked bacon. I used 4c sharp cheddar & 2c medium. I used golden flaxseed meal & it was perfect @ 45min! A few of us enjoyed ours with salsa & sour cream. (I did totally forget the butter, but I wouldn’t change a thing!)
        My kids tried to negotiate for the leftovers, but alas… they are still rookies! ;) Mine.
        Thank you again, Jennifer, and thank your mom! :)

  2. I’m making this tonight with hot sausage from a local farmer. I love the idea of the green chilies. I have some mushrooms that need to get eaten, so they will probably make their way in too! Well, at least in half of the recipe. My boys don’t like them. Although, if I cut them up small enough the boys will never know! :-) Thanks for sharing all your great recipe Jen!

Leave a Reply

