Chocolate Mug Cake! {S}

I know what you may be thinking!  “Jen, there are a bunch of chocolate cake recipes out there already!”  I agree!  Well, I happen to be on a mission in my kitchen to find recipes I enjoy baking that suit my tastes and I figured they may suite yours too!  Everyone has a different way to make mug cakes.  I LOVE them as you can see by other recipes I’ve posted.  I love them for breakfast, a snack or for dessert!  I NEVER feel deprived on the Trim Healthy Mama eating plan.   I enjoy my sweet, sugar-free treats!  The ballgame has changed for me this past week!  I got my new THM Sweet Blend in the mail!!!  I was so excited to get it and see the beautiful packaging.  I’ve been using Truvia for over a year plus some stevia extract powder at times as well.  I was excited to taste the new sweeteners when I knew how much hard work went into getting them to market.  Being organic is a HUGE deal and takes lots of time and hard work.   I was BLOWN away by the taste!  I’m not kidding!  It doesn’t take as much of the Sweet Blend to sweeten my desserts as it did Truvia, which is a huge plus!  If you aren’t sure on the conversions or which sweetener you want to try, check out my friend Gwen’s post about it on her blog: Gwen’s Nest.

Here is the store link if you want to pick up some Sweet Blend or one of their other new sweeteners!  THM Store

DSC_0903

Chocolate Mug Cake! {S}

  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbs of water
  • 1 Tbs of coconut oil
  • 1 Tbs of 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp. of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. of vanilla
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbs. of coconut flour
  • 1 & 1/2 Tbs. of flax flour
  • 1 Tbs. of Ghirardelli’s cocoa powder(my personal preference)
  • 2 tsp. of Sweet Blend by THM  (or 1 tbs of Truvia or Xylitol)

I stir all of these ingredients until they are very well mixed together.   I microwave this for 1 minute and 20 seconds.  I check it and if it’s super wet on top I just go a bit longer until it’s done. You can use a 350 degree oven and bake it in a mason jar or oven safe small dish for 12 minutes or so.  Just keep your eye on it! Cooking times vary so, I always go a bit shy on time when I try a new recipe and check it until it’s done!

Cream Cheese Icing!

Mine is easy!  It’s 1 Tbs. of cream cheese and 1 Tbs of butter with a little sweetener and vanilla.  I soften these with 10 seconds in the microwave and mix them together!  This is a great single serving amount of frosting for me. 🙂  In the picture..I may have used extra..just maybe! 🙂

So, there you have it!  This is just one way to do it.  I love a nice chocolate cake that is moist!  If you want too..you can add in a few Lily’s chocolate chips to the mix.  Oh dear!!!

For my other mug recipes you can look in the THM Recipes up top or at this link for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Single Serving Cake...you can find them all posted!

PIN:  Chocolate Mug Cake

Follow me on Facebook!  Home With a Purpose- Jennifer Griffin

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Mug Cake! {S}

  1. Would you mind sharing your nutrition information, or brands that you used? For me, this recipe works out to 14g protein, 20g carbs, and 24g fat. Which isn’t an S… or an E… seems more like a crossover? So I’m wondering what you were using for this to get the carb count low enough for it to be an “S”. Thanks 🙂

    • Those calculators don’t work well for THM. The reason being that they don’t subtract out the fiber from recipes. I don’t count out each recipe, but use S and E foods together. I know from being on WW or Atkins in the past that it’s easy to get stuck counting.

Leave a comment