My Top 5 Side Dishes~ (S)

Do you ever get bored with the same foods?  I know I can sometimes.  I wanted to share my top 5 favorite side dishes that I use with S meals at my house!  Here we go!

#1- Green Beans cooked in butter, minced garlic and bacon!!!  This sure brings green beans to a whole different level!  Salt and Pepper of course! I love seasoned salt in this recipe.

image

#2-  Don’t forget a beautiful salad.  I often eat a salad for my full meal with some added protein.  I am in LOVE with spinach.  It is so full of vitamins and good nutrients.  I keep a bunch of hard boiled eggs in my refrigerator so I can add some good, farm fresh protein to my meal at any time!  To keep it a nice Deep S, I add on some lovely olive oil, lemon, salt and pepper.  YUM!!

image

#3-  Radishes!  There are moments when I’ve really wanted some red skinned potatoes!  I learned a cool trick that many of you already know about…use radishes!  If I am cooking a roast for dinner in beef stock all day, I add in a bag of radishes in the afternoon.  They take on the flavor of the roast just like potatoes do!  I didn’t believe it til I tried it!  I mash mine with my fork, add some butter, salt and pepper!

DSC_0417

#4- Creamless Creamy Veggies- from the THM book on page 352!  I like to just use broccoli but, you can use whatever you like.  The book gives great instructions and suggestions.  This recipe in the book is a Fuel Pull at heart so you can make it an S or and E by adding ingredients to it.  I like to add some butter so mine becomes a nice S!

#5- Loaded Cauliflower Casserole-  Oh my.  This may be one of our favorite things to eat…PERIOD.

DSC_0429

  • I cook a bag of cauliflower til tender
  • Drain well
  • Pour into a greased baking dish(9 by 9)
  • 4 Ounces of cream cheese
  • 1 cup of cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp. of minced garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 4 pieces of bacon, crisped and diced (add it in)
  • 3 Tbs. of butter cut in little pieces

~Mix it all together and sprinkle a little more cheese on top!  350 for 30 minutes!  I’m telling you what..it’s good!  I know there are many recipes out there for this type casserole.  I love eating this with a nice steak and a side salad!

So, I hope this gives you some ideas to add to your menu plans! I know I love getting ideas from you all too!  I’d love to hear one of your favorite S side dishes!

To get more recipes and hints about following Trim Healthy Mama, visit Gwen’s Nest and her Trim Healthy Tuesday post!  You can always visit Trim Healthy Mama to order a book and get on the road to Finding Your Trim!

Visit me on Facebook or Pinterest!

Pin: Top 5 Side Dishes

11 thoughts on “My Top 5 Side Dishes~ (S)

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Favorite Fuel Pull Snacks! | Home With a Purpose

  2. oh hi, that cauliflower dish is delish. i used fresh, about half of a costco sized bag. i did NOT cook it first, just put it in the pan raw, because I don’t like mushy cauliflower. my husband really liked it too. thanks!

  3. Thank you for this post! Fantastic. One question: do you peel your radishes or just cut the ends? Thank you again 😉

    • I do not peel them..I just cut them. 🙂 I cut the ends off and cut them in half. You can leave them whole if they are small.

Leave a comment